Submitted by evesham on

The winners of the ALA Youth Media Awards were announced on January 28. While none of our Youth Services staff members correctly predicted this year’s winners, Miss Hannah from the Evesham Library did select one of the Newbery Honor books: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani.

The winner of the Caldecott Medal for 2019 is Hello Lighthouse, illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall. There are four honor books this year: Alma and How She Got Her Name, illustrated and written by Juana Martinez-Neal; A Big Mooncake for Little Star, illustrated and written by Grace Lin; The Rough Patch, illustrated and written by Brian Lies; and Thank You, Omu!, illustrated and written by Oge Mora.

The winner of the Newbery Medal for 2019 is Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina. Two honor books were also named: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani and The Book of Boy, written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock and illustrated by Ian Schoenherr.